Tuesday, April 12, 2011

SPORTS HOAX



The recent events at Dodger Stadium made me think. Was Bryan Stow, "savagely beaten" as some accounts have said...or, is this just one of the Hoaxes of Professional Sports?

I have been a lifelong Dodger Fan. My Dad loved baseball and his idol was Branch Rickey. Mr. Rickey created the Saint Louis Cardinals in the 1920's and in 1943 began to manage the Brooklyn Dodgers. It was Mr. Rickey who hired Jackie Robinson and, broke the color barrier in professional sports. Dad and I would listen to Vin Scully announce the games through the 50's and 60's.

Over the last 16 years I have been to Dodgers Stadium maybe 50 times to watch the games. I have taken my family there and never felt in any danger. Dodger fans are outspoken but rarely insulting or threatening. I was surprised to hear that Bryan Stow, a Giants fan was injured after a recent game. As the story developed it became almost impossible for me to believe. Something is just not right. Is the so called "beating" another hoax of professional sports?

The TEAM HOAX
When I was a kid Sports Teams had players for life, or at least a really long time. Today there really are no "Teams" in the sense that we used to know them. Players move around like a huge game of musical chairs. I hear Albert Pujols may even leave the Cardinals.....There is no loyalty except to the contract. The idea of the TEAM is a marketing Hoax played on the fans.

The RIVALRY HOAX
Fans that are naive enough to believe the TEAM HOAX are then willing to believe that there is some RIVALRY between these so called Teams of millionaires. It's just another marketing hoax played on fans. The Cubs and Cardinals. The Dodgers and Giants. The Yankees and Red Soxs. Please. Baseball is made up of 30 professional teams each with a 40 man roster. This equals about 1200 millionaires who move around from team to team just to get the best financial deal. The only Rivalry in Baseball is to see who gets more of the fans money. The Players really only care about their contracts, bonus money for the play offs, and endorsement deals. Fans should not be fooled by the idea that Players have ANY rivalry with other teams.....they may be playing on those teams next month.

The BEATING HOAX
On March 31, 2011 the Dodgers played the Giants at Dodger Stadium. It was first reported that Bryan Stow and two friends were "walking in the parking lot when Bryan was pushed to the ground." He hit his head and suffered a serious brain injury. Once the story became well known, it changed into a "savage beating" by rival fans. It was also reported to have been witnessed by over "100 fans".

Could this be another Sports Hoax? Maybe. There remains no clear explanation as to why Bryan was pushed. Sports radio and others have assumed it was due to the long standing rivalry between Dodger and Giant fans. It might just be that Bryan was blocking an exit and he fell. We know his two friends did not stop the so called "beating" or catch the guys who allegedly assaulted Bryan. We also know that none of the "100 fans" who saw the incident took any cell phone photos. Why?

Now we hear that it is dangerous to attend Dodger games. Security is an issue. The facts are that 3 million fans attended Dodger games last year. There were 29 major crimes at Dodger Stadium in this period. Nobody was killed and more people have died in plane crashes over the last 40 years than have been assaulted at Dodger stadium. Maybe flying isn't safe? Don't be fooled by this crap. Think for yourself and always...always ask, why? Do you think the Dodgers need a new Stadium and they want the City of Los Angeles to pay for it....all in the name of safety?

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

When he is right....he's right


Like many Americans, I did not vote for President Obama. Regardless, I watched his speech on Libya and agree with his leadership in this critical situation. Like his direction in Egypt, President Obama has maintained America's credibility among Arabs in support of self determination. This is not an easy path to walk and President Obama deserves credit for the way in which he has worked in support of Arab freedom fighters.

Many, including myself, have did not want "another war" in a Muslim country. We have spent nearly two trillion dollars fighting two pointless wars with no end in sight. President Obama, in his speech, was clear that the US role in Libya would not degenerate into another long term expensive conflict. He also was clear about our unique position to save thousands of people from certain death. These people would have died as a result of an attack on Benghazi. America and our allies saved these people so as to help them continue their struggle for freedom.

America has often been wrong in the past when we support dictators who crush their citizens. In Egypt and Libya we are on the right side of the conflict and the President deserves credit for his leadership. When he is wrong....say so. When he is right....be sure to tell him.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

HOW MUCH WAR CAN YOU AFFORD?


On September 11, 2011, it will be ten years since the Terrorist attack on New York and Washington. As a result of those attacks, America went to War in Afghanistan and Iraq. To date, after nearly ten years of fighting we have not caught the persons responsible for the attacks. This week we began a third war with Libya. I think it is time to ask....How much War can America afford?

In the Congressional Research Service Report "The Cost of Iraq, Afghanistan, and Other Global War on Terror Operations since 9/11," Amy Belasco lists the current cost as of September 2010. Here is a link. Please read it yourself: http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/natsec/RL33110.pdf

• The War in Iraq has been costing America $5 Billion per month, or $60 Billion per year, a Total of over $500 Billion
• The War in Afghanistan has been costing America $4 Billion per month, or $48 Billion per year, a Total of another $500 Billion
• Total cost of these Wars has reached over one Trillion Dollars

Now we have begun another conflict in Libya. The cost of this new War will quickly reach a Billion dollars per month. You and I are paying for these Wars. President Urkel said he was opposed to these Wars and would end them if elected. How much War can you afford when your country is near bankrupt? Do you really think you are getting your money's worth from the fighting in any of these places? It is time to rethink BIG GOVERNMENT.

Monday, March 21, 2011

Quality Edjamacation



I like trade unions. While I was in College, I worked summer jobs as a Union Boiler Maker, Carpenter, and Brewery Worker. I made way too much money, filling in while real workers were on vacation. It was this money that helped me pay for college. Along the way I learned more than I wanted to know about Unions.

Unions helped to create the modern work place. They established the 40 hour work week, paid vacations, retirement plans, and healthcare coverage. Work would be awful today if it were not for the hard work of Unions in the 1920s. But, have Unions lost their way?

Today Unions seem to be focused on unreasonable demands. Union Teachers seem to be the most out of touch. Teachers work nine or ten months a year and only six or seven hours a day but they expect to earn more than other people. They complain about layoffs, when millions of other workers have been unemployed for years. And, they refuse to take responsibility for the students they produce. Now the Teacher Unions want all the rest of us to help them. Fat Chance.

Unions need to accept responsibility for the products they produce. If a product or service can be produced better with a non union work force, where is the value in Union Labor? As a union Carpenter, I helped to build high quality homes. We took pride in the product we produced. How can Union Teachers expect us to support them when they have produced poorly trained and near illiterate students? If Unions want broad support they need to make Union Labor a point of difference in producing quality products and services. Teachers need to be accountable for the students they produce.

The Six Ps



It was my Dad's Birthday on March 15. He would have been 91 years old but he died in 1998. He was a great guy and I miss him.

Dad fought the Japanese on Okinawa in WW II and never really ended his personal war with Japan. He was attacked by a Japanese solider in hand to hand combat. He killed the Japanese soldier and brought back the sword that almost killed him. Yes, Dad if you are reading this....I still have the sword.

Dad grew up during the depression working with his brothers selling illegal whiskey. His job was to carry a shotgun and shoot people who tried to rob them. He told me many times that he was really lucky that WW II came along because he never graduated from eighth grade and didn't have any real skill, except his ability to shoot people. Dad stayed in the military as a First Sergeant and retired after 30 years. One of his favorite sayings was about the SIX Ps. He told me that: Piss Poor Planning Predicated Poor Performance. Dad was full of wise First Sergeant Idioms.

Dad would have laughed his ass off this past week at the Japanese and the events at the Fukishima Power Plant. Yes, I know it is all horrible and a tragic loss of life. But, if you were my Dad, and you spent most of your adult life hating the Japanese, the Japanese cars, Japanese TVs, and all things Japanese. If you lost friends at Pearl Harbor and hated watching TV during the 70s and 80s because they kept saying Japanese this and that. If you heard it 10,000 times that the Japanese are soooo much better at making things, inventing things, and business. Then last week was your big HA! The Six Ps caught up with Japan and I'm sorry Dad did not live to see it.

I guess the shock for me has been the total lack of anything close to a real plan to protect and save these reactors. I grew up thinking Japan really had their shit together when it came to industrial and manufacturing stuff. Turns out they don't know any more about what they are doing than we do in the good old USA. There is a place where old military guys go when they die, I'm sure Dad and some of those guys from the USS Arizona are drinking beer and laughing.

Monday, March 7, 2011

Rethinking the Oscars



I watched the Oscars last week. It was the most disappointing Academy Awards Show I have ever seen. The best Movie of the Year was clearly True Grit, the story of a young girl's struggle for justice. The original movie version of the book won an Oscar for John Wayne. That was a movie which failed to capture the quality of the book by Charles Portis. The 2010 movie by the Coen brothers was extremely well made and both Jeff Bridges and Hailee Steinfeld deserved Oscars. Jeff Bridges won an Oscar last year and Hailee will no doubt go on to win many herself.

The real tragedy of the Oscars was the praise dumped on the King's Speech. I'm upset about the movie because it seems like a really minor event blown way out of proportion. Let's get our facts straight. Albert, King George VI, was the dull brother of the rightful heir to the British Crown, Edward VIII. He only became King because his playboy brother abdicated. During his reign, Britain went from a global leader to its current status. George was not a great leader and, as the movie explains, a poor speaker.

The idea that King George VI inspired anyone is total rubbish. All of the inspiration among the British came from Winston Churchill. Moreover, Churchill had an American mother and right to US Citizenship. He used this to gain support with President Roosevelt and bring America into the war and that saved England. The speeches by King George VI make good reading if you are a person who stutters but the reality is he was a dull and uninspiring leader. The movie attempts to remake history and create the sense that King George VI inspired Britain. It did not happen and the movie is much ado about nothing.

Finally, the Social Network was a great movie that provides insight into the creation of Facebook. I loved the movie and the portrayal of the Winkelvoss idiot brothers. Clearly the social network was better than the King's Speech. I think the same people who rig the Super Bowl are rigging the Oscars.

Thursday, February 24, 2011

The Zuckerburg's vrs the Winkelvi


I have friends who think Facebook is stupid. When I have asked them..."are you on facebook?" they say rude things. One friend told me that facebook was for kids. Another told me that facebook was for people with no life. John told me to, "fuck facebook." How nice was that?

I think facebook is a tool. I have told all of them that when Gutenberg invented the printing press in 1439, 98% of Europe was illiterate. In my view, there is a direct link between the invention of the printing press and the American, French, and Russian revolutions. Gutenberg made it possible to share ideas. These ideas, some of which may be silly, led to enlightenment and democracy. Likewise, facebook is a tool. Young girls can talk about boys at high school and Egyptians can use it to change their country. It is just a tool for social interaction.

So, because I think facebook is powerful, I saw the movie "the social network". The movie was equally powerful. It explains how a person with an idea can change the world. It also shows a clear distinction between the two key ways to develop a business. I need to tell you that I identify with Mark Zuckerberg. I feel his pain as Bill Clinton would say. I know what it is like to say the wrong thing when I believe it is the truth, and have everyone around me upset. I know what it is like to be driven and obsessive about silly little things. I also know what it is like to work at odds with the "system". Mark Zuckerberg is everyman. Likewise the brothers Winkelvoss represent the establishment. They are the suits.

I was amazed that the "Winkelvi" never considered a formal agreement necessary with Mark Zuckerberg. Likewise they did not ask him to sign a confidentiality agreement. These are smart guys from a rich family who went to Harvard. Were they really that stupid? If you have a good idea.....protect yourself...duh? Or, maybe it wasn't their idea after all. I was very pleased when Zuckerberg said, "you can stand on my shoulders and pretend you are tall."

Business is really developed by the guy with a good idea. The suits can take an idea by stealing it or buying it, and build it into something bigger, but they almost never create it. The big companies I have work with were good at having meetings but really bad at creating value. I loved the movie the social network because it was a movie about the guy with an idea and his vision for its development. I really hate to think what facebook or the Harvard Connection would have been like under the direction of the Winkelvoss brothers. In the end business is really summed up as the Zuckerbergs versus the Winkelvi. Gutenberg would be happy.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

BIG GOVERNMENT



We keep hearing that government spending is out of control. Something really needs to be done. Congress and President Urkel seem reluctant to make the critical cuts needed to get spending in line with tax revenue. I think over spending is our number one national security issue.

For all the talk about cutting spending nobody seems willing to discuss the money spent on National Defense or Social Security. You can cut Amtrak and NASA to the bone but the real cost of BIG GOVERNMENT is in Defense and Social Security. I have a couple of suggestions which I have written about numerous times in the past....long before this issue boiled up to the top. First, we need to end these Wars in Iraq and Effenstan [That's my way of saying f'ing Afghanistan]. Second, we need to pay Social Security tax on ALL earnings. Today Americans only pay Social Security tax on the first $106,800 earned each year. This means that everyone earning OVER this amount stops paying Social Security tax once they earn $106,800 in the calendar year. All of Wall Street and 99.9% of all CEOs earn more than $106,000 per year.

Regarding the Wars, how long does this need to continue? We spend billions per day on these wastes of time countries chasing so called terrorist who have long ago moved to Pakistan or Yemen. It's well past time to end this farce and cut the cost of killing low level rag head soldiers. The recent revolution in Egypt proves that there are other Arabs out there who want a better life and we need to support them. Our Wars in Arab / Muslim countries send a bad message about Amerika, and they cost too much. The troops must be tired of this never ending mess. Let's stop the War.

Regarding Social Security, I'm in favor of us having a national safety net for old people like me. The system was set up a long time ago and it needs to be revisited. The idea of people NOT paying into social security who earn over $106,800 per year seems crazy given the lack of funding for the program. This is an easy fix and the right thing to do.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Say NO to BIG SIS


I read today the comments of Janet Napolitano, Secretary of Homeland Security. She said, "The terrorist threat facing our country has evolved significantly in the last ten years -- and continues to evolve -- so that, in some ways, the threat facing us is at its most heightened state since those 9/11 attacks," I cannot help but thinking that these comments are designed to create more fear among the population and to justify increased "police state" spending and abuse.

It is important to keep the threat of terrorism in perspective. The US death Rate is about 2.4 million people per year. The single biggest cause is heart related disease with about 800,000 deaths due to heart attack and stroke. Cancer is a big killer too, with over 500,000 deaths per year. Tobacco kills about 400,000 and our old friend alcohol kills 100,000. Auto accidents kill 40,000 and Homicide kills about 18,000. Terrorist kill less than 20 US citizens per year with the exception of 9/11. There seems to be a greater chance that you would die of a heart attack, while smoking and driving your car, than from any act of terror. Even airplane deaths are more common with nearly 1,000 aviation deaths per year and most of those are private plane deaths. Drowning kills 3,000 per year.

So we need to ask: Why all the scare tactics about Terrorism? In the 1950s we heard similar scare tactics about the Russians bombing America. This lead to huge increases in spending to "keep us safe." Turns out the Russians weren't going to bomb us after all. Now the new "threat" is terrorism. To keep us safe...we need to spend more Tax Money on scanners, and TSA agents. All this spending is justified because we need to be Safe.

Life is not safe. There is a risk just getting up each day. The biggest threat to America is bankruptcy and we need to cut spending. Creating a huge Orwellian Police State and spending Billions will not keep us safe. If safety is what we are seeking we should close our borders and prevent potential terrorist from walking into the United States. Paying more to search little old ladies at the Airport is not keeping us safe.

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Is it just me...or does HP suck?

I have an HP Desk Top computer and it drives me crazy. I think it has some secret "back up" program on it in case there is a crash it can go back to a previous time and rebuild all my files. I guess that's nice, but the hard drive runs for about an hour each afternoon while it is backing up. I have tried fifty things to get this to stop. I already use CARBONITE as my back up [Thanks again Jay] and I don't need the computer "thinking for me." HP service tried to tell me this is my fault. Thanks.

As part of all this, HP sends me great little suggestions from time to time via email. I REALLY hate that too and have tried to stop it as well. I am on a one man WAR to end all Junk Mail and Spam. Today HP sent me a note about their new Touch Pad due out this summer. Does the photo look like anything you have seen or bought before? I think HP is saying: "We can't invent anything new but we sure can copy stuff made by other people."

I am fed up with my HP Desk Top and the Printer that jams. Why would I want to buy a clone of the iPad from these guys?

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

The Adventure


Life is an adventure. As I watch my son Jack grow up, I see the stages he is moving through much better than I saw them for myself. Now, I am making the transition to another stage in my own life and I can't help but look back. Some part of each change is the need to let go of the things you are leaving behind. I see Jack letting go of his infancy as he becomes a "boy". He is not a baby anymore. In the same way, I am letting go of being the "man of the house". I am no longer the financial support for our family that is was just five years ago. Likewise, Pam is moving from being a "kid" to becoming a real adult. She has people working for her who are, in many ways, the same as she was when she began her career. Now she is more serious. More focused on the numbers. More like I was, for far too many years.

It's good to let go of some of this crap. For years I worried about "work" and the future. Pam calls it "being on the wheel," chasing the dime, going for the brass ring. My view is that I am moving on to things that are more important. In April, we will have a new baby. My job will be child care for the next two years...and maybe rest of my life. Jack will be in First Grade and I will be home with "Paddy" [Michael Patrick May] every day. I already buy the groceries, cook the food, clean the house, wash the clothes, and take Jack to school. When you stop, as I have done, and think about it, isn't what I am doing more important work than all the P&Ls, gross margins, business meetings, and office politics? I think so. Maybe I am rationalizing these changes. Trying to compensate my ego for the loss of a career or position. Nope.....I'm not.

My life, on the edge of change, is just part of the big adventure. I could not be happier. I don't miss any of the idoits for whom I worked. Stanley Allen stands alone as the only person I ever respected whom I called my boss. All the others, from Bill Hyer to Ned were short sighted dumb ass morons. I had my share of real career success and I am over it. My goal now is to work every day to teach my sons the things I learned growing up. How to build stuff and fix stuff. How to skip a rock across the lake four times. How to pick up a snake and not get bit.

This next stage sure looks like fun. I had the Kaiser health check up and passed all the tests. My face is starting to look ten years younger. I'm going for a walk. I need to build up my stamina. I will have two little Ninjas to fight starting in April, and I need to get myself in shape. The adventure continues.

Monday, February 7, 2011

Black Eye, Please

Like nearly everyone on Earth I watched the Super Bowl. I was a Packer Fan and wanted Aaron Rodgers to win the game so as to be vindicated from his history as a "bridesmaid". Aaron is the guy who never seemed to get the credit or attention due his remarkable talent. I think he was drafted into the NFL in the 900th round. Playing second to Brett Favre must have been demoralizing with constant comparisons being stuffed in his face. I was also happy to see that the Black Eye Peas were going to do the half time show. These half time shows have been a joke for the last several years and I really thought BEP would return the half time show to a new high. Guess I was wrong about that.

I knew things would not be what I expected when Christina Aguilera could not remember the words to the Star Spangled Banner. Next Year, let's ask Christina and Rosanne Barr to do a duet. Then came half time. As the Show began I thought the sound was off on my TV. I kept trying to find the music....I heard none. Then it went terribly wrong. These robot dance numbers with TRON light suits just plain suck. I felt like we went back to 1999 and after the second guest appearance [UGHSHER] I fully expect Janet Jackson to come out and join in the silly dance line.

How could a Group as good as the Black Eyed Peas screw up a Half Time Show? My expectations were so high and the show was so tired and out dated that I can only blame their Producers. Who ever thought the light suits and LOVE stage was a good idea misunderstood the NFL fans and the expectations of the audience. I fully expected a pumped up show and we got a tired old rerun from the past, doing all the choreography from every Michael Jackson video. Moon walk? Were they serious? Was this show rehearsed and did anyone say....Maybe we should rethink our direction here?

So, it was the Best Super Bowl ever. Aaron Rogers is the new star of the NFL. The Black Eyed Peas with be playing at an Indian Casino near you this summer. Their Show ended their Career.

Friday, February 4, 2011

Ã¥ min gud i himmel

Two things happened in the last two days to make me embarrassed to be a US Citizen. I am reminded of the term used by my German friends "the ugly Americans".

Today Canadian Prime Minister Harper was in a news conference with President Obama. I was watching CNN as they took questions from Journalist. A Canadian Journalist asked Prime Minister Harper to comment and also asked that he reply in BOTH English and French for Canadian viewers. The feed from CNN stalled and I switched to FOX News [for some crazy reason] to continue to watch. When the Prime Minister began to speak in French, the Fox News Anchor Idiot yelled, TURN THAT OFF. Then he turned to the camera and said, "I'm sorry I can't stand to listen to him in French." I was stunned.

Most of the world speaks multiple languages. I can get by speaking German in most social situations and Pam can speak enough French to save us in Paris. Nearly everyone in the United States came from someplace else and most spoke a language other than English. When we refuse to speak other languages or we are just too stupid or arrogant to try, we tell the world they are right about America. We are self centered and narrow minded.

The second situation is about the Movie, "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." The movie is based on the very popular Swedish book by Steig Larsson. The movie was made in Sweden and produced in Swedish. Nearly everyone in Sweden speaks perfect English and at least two other languages like German and French. The Swedes like the Norwegians realize that their language will not become very popular internationally like English, Spanish or Chinese. The Movie was made in Swedish, even though all the Actors speak English, because the Book and Story are Swedish. To change the language is to change the context of the story about Swedish Culture.

Now the Movie is being remade by Hollywood in English. The original Actors in the Swedish version have been replaced with English and American actors. To make the damage worse, the new English version of the film is being shot in SWEDEN! å min gud i himmel [Oh, my god in heaven...in Swedish]

We live in an ever smaller world and as Amerikans we need to learn to fit into the world we live in. It is NOT always about us. I do not know anyone who can name the capital of Canada or Sweden. How can we expect them to respect us?

Thursday, February 3, 2011

POWER TO THE PEOPLE


I think the United States, President Obama and Hilary Clinton have done a good job in dealing with the crisis in Egypt.

Over the last 60 years the US has supported all sorts of crazy Right Wing Dictators. We did this in Cuba, Vietnam, and elsewhere only to have popular democratic uprisings develop. In most cases we supported the wrong side until the Dictators were expelled from power. I'm proud to say we are not doing this in Egypt. In Egypt, we appear to be supporting the people and not the Dictatorship. This is good for Egypt and for the United States.

Monday, January 31, 2011

Please try the Kool Aid


Have you seen the TV Commercials for SCIENTOLOGY? Is it me or are they just too weird?

Let's clear the air....I am a non believer, with the one exception for Santa. [He brought me a bicycle] All other gods, ghost, bogey men, aliens, and assorted myths are just crap and the fabrication of the human mind. I live in a real world with more than enough bad guys and unexplained events. I don't try to dream up imaginary friends or some invisible man in the sky. I also do not try to "prove" I am right. It is impossible to prove the non existence of people or things.

Back to Scientology. I think they are classified as a religion. The word CULT comes to mind as I listen to their commercial and read their information. It's like having a commercial with Jim Jones selling Kool Aid...just too strange. Please, when the commercial comes on your TV, please explain to the people in the room that this is a CULT designed to steal your money with promises of false hope and personal enlightenment. I read that these commercials are banned in Europe.

FREEDOM of the PRESS

Last night I watched the 60 Minutes interview with Julian Assange, the founder of WikiLeaks. Frequently we listen to news reports and develop opinions based on the thinking of those who report the news. I made this mistake regarding Julian Assange and Wikileaks. However, the 60 Minutes interview with Steve Kroft was very powerful and surprisingly informative. Julian Assange is NOT a crack pot or terrorist. He is a PUBLISHER much like Rupert Murdoch or William Randolph Hearst. If you missed the interview you can watch it on 60 Minutes.com.

Assange's point is that the free flow of information is critical in a free society. He believes that the so called "Free Press" is not free and that the raise of internet publishing creates the opportunity for Global Free Press. Assange says, WIKI LEAKS does not solicit information. They only publish the information sent to them. They do not edit the information but only publish it for others to evaluate. Assange gives an example: He says WIKI LEAKS does not take a position on whales. They publish all the information sent to them so that informed people can make informed decisions on whaling. Likewise, Assange believes that support for WIKI LEAKS and he, is based on those who send him information and those who donate money to his organization. In his view, he is working for them and Global Freedom of the Press.

As I listened to him discuss his views calmly, in spite of Steve Kroft's belligerent style, it became clear that Julian Assange is really on to something important. Freedom of Speech and Free Press are critical to free society. If Assange is wrong, society will stop reading his site. BUT, like Matt Drudge before him, I think Julian Assange has created a whole new wave of Free Press beyond the bounds of traditional print or broadcast journalism. It seemed almost silly to watch Steve Kroft of 60 Minutes attempt to discredit Assange. 60 Minutes has made its reputation on doing exactly the same thing Assange is doing but using an older form of publishing, TV.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DzC9invn4Ko

Friday, January 28, 2011

CHECK ENGINE


If you have ever been driving your car and the Check Engine light comes on, you know the feeling. UGH, what does this mean to me? Likewise as you reach your "golden years", you need to go in for the 60,000 mile check up. In my case, a growth developed on my shoulder and it served as my "CHECK ENGINE" light.

I first noticed the rough spot on my skin about 60 days ago. I believe strongly in self care and home surgery so I attempted to sand the rough spot off my shoulder. That did not work. It bled and became infected. Then I tried all kinds of chemical treatments to kill the growth. Nothing worked. Pam quietly watched over about a week as I kept trying to cut the growth off. Then, well after she was near crazy watching me, she suggested I go see a "DOCTOR".

We have the BEST Health Coverage on Earth, KAISER. Kaiser Permanente is an integrated managed care consortium found by Henry Kaiser to cover his employees. Today Kaiser covers over 8 million people with full service integrated healthcare. We have been in the Kaiser system for eight years but.....I have never seen a Doctor. I did get my eyes examined once but I did not have a Doctor assigned to me. So I went to Kaiser and saw Dr James Sandys. I picked him because he is an old white guy who can identify with my style.

Dr Sandys looked at my shoulder and asked if I had been "messing with it." I told him I tried home surgery and he asked what I did for a living. I told him I sold food. He said, "I promise I won't try to sell food if you let me take care of the surgery." He sent me to the Lab for some Tests. They cut the growth off my shoulder and I waited for the results.

Turns out I am in great shape. See test results below. The growth was a simple keratosis and not cancer. I need to end my all bacon diet to bring my lipids down a little but I passed the 60,000 mile check up.

My test results:

PROSTATE SPECIFIC ANTIGEN (PSA)
Component Your result Standard range Units
PSA 1.18 < or =" 4.5">

Component Your result Standard range Units
CHOLESTEROL 205 <200>
TRIGLYCERIDE 159 <150>
HDL 44 >/=40 mg/dL
LDL CALCULATED 129 <100>

COP KILLERS RUN FREE ......details at 11:00

I grew up with a very healthy disrespect for authority. Authority figures, like teachers and the police did not seem to be very smart. Their strategy was to use force or threat of force to motivate people. I never understood why they could not earn the respect they demand through the use of force. In my view, society selected these persons to teach us and keep us safe. Why did they need to then threaten the society in order to gain respect and support?

On January 19, there was a report of a Police Officer shooting in a suburb of Los Angeles. The Officer, Jeff Stenroos, was on School Patrol at El Camino Real High School in Woodland Hills. The shooting occurred at about Noon on Wednesday. The LAPD reacted very quickly. It must have been a slow crime day. 350 police officers responded closing off seven square miles and "locking down" nine area schools. The Children in those schools were prevented from leaving their class rooms....even to use the toilet. For eight hours the LAPD searched for the shooter. He was described as a white male in his 40s with a bomber style jacket.

They did not catch the shooter. They searched door to door with police dogs. The LAPD used multiple helicopters to sweep the area. The next day they held a press conference and showed a composite sketch of the shooter. A $100,000 reward was offered to catch the guy. Parents who complained about their children being locked up for hours were told, "WE NEED TO TAKE THIS ACTION TO KEEP YOU SAFE." Parents and children just don't understand how the Police need to work...for our safety.

Turns out...It was all a hoax. The dumb stupid Cop shot himself playing with his gun and made up the whole story. He was arrested today for making a false report. Really, I'm not kidding. This would be a great joke if it was not so very sad. By best guess, the police spent well over a million dollars trying to catch the shooter. Nine schools were locked down and perhaps 10,000 families were worried and upset about their children.

My healthy disrespect for authority remains safe. Moreover, my question continues: Why do we hire morons to do this important work of teaching children and keeping us safe? How can the Los Angeles Police Department face the public after such a stupid over reaction to a false shooting?

The Teachers Unions, Police Unions, and Homeland Security would have you believe that you are not nearly smart enough to understand how they work. Really? You need to continue to question authority and hold these people accountable.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Steve Jobs


Steve Jobs has taken a medical leave of absence from Apple. My wife thinks I talk too much about all things Apple/Jobs related, but this news isn't good. It's not good for Steve Jobs. Not good for Apple consumers. Not good for America.

Steve Jobs is a real American entrepreneur. He is visionary and he has changed the way we think and work. There are almost no words big enough to explain his impact on civilization. Think for just a minute of anyone you know with his history. Steve Jobs was adopted. He dropped out of College in 1972 after just one semester. He got a part time job to save money to take a retreat in India where he became a Buddhist. He shaved his head and took LSD while working part time on a Video game at Atari. Any kid today with this profile would be called a "burnout" or Loser. Then in 1976, four years out of high school, no college, and a Buddhist acid freak, he helped to found Apple Computers. By 1984 Apple had built the Macintosh, while PC computing was still using DOS, C: run.

Jobs was fired from the company he helped to create. Apple we were told, was doomed. But Jobs went on to invent Pixar and digital cartooning. Today Steve Jobs is on the Board at Disney and one of their biggest stock holders. Then Jobs went back to Apple. The company was in trouble and Jobs helped to create the iPod. This led to a shift in the way we buy and listen to music. After inventing the Macintosh Computer, Pixar, and the iPod some people would have quit. But Steve Jobs went on to invent the iPhone and recently the iPad. Both are revolutionary new products that have changed our lives. I believe the iPhone created the entire Smartphone App based hand held business for Blackberry and Android. Now the iPad is creating the digital tablet business for others to follow.

Steve Jobs has the ability to see the potential in things we cannot even imagine. Apple announced their quarterly results for the period ending December 25, 2010. They had record earnings of $26.7 billion up 70% from the same period last year. If Apple were a German or Japanese company we would be studying, "how they did that." But Apple is an American company with a driven visionary leader who did not go to MBA School or climb the corporate ladder.

This is a remarkable American story and I only hope it ends well.

Get to Know China

Today the Chinese President, Hu Jintao comes to America to visit Washington. Much has been written about the "Raise of China" and its competition with the United States. Before you begin to think that China is an advisory, take the time to get to know China. What do you really know about China? Most people know nearly nothing or worse, only what they are told by FOX News.


China, [The People's Republic of China] is over 1.3 Billion people and the second largest country in area. Chinese civilization is the world's oldest, dating back nearly 6,000 years. The Chinese invented gun powder, but only used it to make fireworks. The Chinese invented noodles or pasta and shared this with Marco Polo to bring back to Italy. The Chinese, much like the Irish, Mexicans, and others came to America seeking opportunity. There are many Chinese American families who have lived in the United States for over 150 years. Chinese food, as we know it, is not served in China and is a product of the Americanization of real Chinese cuisine. China has never attacked or invaded another country. The Chinese have spread around the globe, but in every situation the Chinese are peaceful, respectful and model citizens. During the twentieth century China transformed itself from a farming economy into the world leader in manufacturing. Today, China is one of America's best trade partners. More General Motors automobiles are sold in China than in the USA. The Chinese are not Muslim. Officially, China is non religious. Buddhist and Taoist make up nearly 90% of those who identify a religious preference. The largest English Speaking population on earth are the Chinese.

China is America's friend and partner with a similar relationship to that of America and Europe. The Chinese have problems and they prefer that America not try to tell them how to run their country. Take time to learn more about China. It is important that you know and understand this country and their culture.